## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

## WORKPLACE FAIRNESS NOMINATED FOR BEST LAW SITE IN THE 13th ANNUAL WEBBY AWARDS

Fans Can Vote Online to Help Workplace Fairness Win Internet's Top Honor

## http://pv.webbyawards.com

**WASHINGTON, D.C. – April 22, 2009** – Workplace Fairness announced today that it has been nominated for Best Law Site in the 13th Annual Webby Awards.

Hailed as the "Internet's highest honor" by the New York Times, The Webby Awards is the leading international award honoring excellence on the Internet.

Workplace Fairness is a non-profit organization working to preserve and promote employee rights. The site provides comprehensive information about job rights and employment issues nationally and in all 50 states. It is for workers, employers, advocates, policymakers, journalists, and anyone else who wants to understand, protect, and strengthen workers rights'.

"Nominees like Workplace Fairness are setting the standard for innovation and creativity on the Internet," said David-Michel Davies, executive director of the Webby Awards. "It is an incredible achievement to be selected among the best from the nearly 10,000 entries we received this year."

"It is an honor of the highest caliber to have been selected as a Webby Nominee in the Law category," said Paula Brantner, executive director of Workplace Fairness. "As a nonprofit organization with a small staff and limited budget, we are especially pleased to be represented beside organizations with significantly more resources. This recognition will allow us to reach more workers with the critical information they need in these difficult economic times."

As a nominee, Workplace Fairness is also eligible to win a Webby People's Voice Award, which is voted online by the global Web community. From now until April 30th, Workplace Fairness fans can cast their votes in The Webby People's Voice Awards at <u>http://pv.webbyawards.com</u>

Winners will be announced on May 5th, 2009 and honored at a star-studded ceremony in New York City on June 8th hosted by Seth Meyers of *Saturday Night Live*. Winners will be able to share one of the Webby's famous five-word speeches with the world. Past Webby Award winners - and their speeches - include Al Gore ("Please don't recount this vote."), Beastie Boys ("Can anyone fix my computer?"), and Stephen Colbert ("Me. Me. Me. Me. Me. Me.").

The Webby Awards is presented by the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences, a 650-person judging academy whose members include Internet co-inventor Vinton Cerf, R/GA's Chief Bob Greenberg, "Simpson's" creator Matt Groening, Arianna Huffington, and Harvey Weinstein.

## ###

For further information about Workplace Fairness, contact:

Paula Brantner, Executive Director

240-429-0260; www.workplacefairness.org